Tired, oh so tired

I’m not sure what has been going on with me recently but I am tired, so so tired all of the time. I sit at my desk at work fighting the urge to curl up and go to sleep. Today I even had to take a 20 minute power nap on my lunch break. What is going on!?

So as most people would do I took to Google and searched ‘chronic fatigue’ and here is what I found…

The NHS lists 10 medical reasons why you might feel extreme tiredness and a couple of these ring true for me. I’ve been tested in the past for iron deficiency, thyroid problems all of which came back clear. I’m also not someone to take advice from sites that aren’t verified or from trustworthy sources…I’ll stick with NHS and WebMD thanks!

Two things that were on that list I can relate to are stress and anxiety. I feel both of these on a regular basis. My job can be quite stressful at time, I work to deadlines often, I work across several departments and there is often a lot of change/last minute changes. I’m someone who likes structure and organisation so this can be difficult for me…something I have been working on for several years. I also feel anxious a lot, I go through stages of not being able to sleep, worrying excessively and being irritable.

All of the above can lead to feelings of extreme tiredness and exhaustion. Question is, what do I do about it? For me exercise makes me feel better, and it’s definitely something I’ve not been doing enough of. I’ve already schedule workouts into my diary for the next two weeks. Avoiding alcohol. Again I’ve been drinking too much recently and it’s showing both on my skin and how I feel. I’m aiming to only have alcohol one day a week for the foreseeable and not to get drunk. I’m also trying to get back into practising mindfulness. I’m listening to sleep stories every night, I find these really help me sleep without having a programme play on my iPad. I’m also going to start using my diffuser more and colouring books…both of which help me to relax.

I’ll let you know how I get on in the next couple of weeks!

F x

Instagram / Pinterest

Leave a Reply

