Digital Detox

Smartphones, tablets, laptops…they’re all great things that enhance our lives in many ways. They mean we have a world of information literally at our finger- tips, we can keep in touch with family across the world easier than we ever could before, they provide a platform for us to have a voice, we can find out news instantaneously and can share memories with all those we know at the touch of a button.

But sometimes, we need a break from the digital world we live in. It can be suffocating, stress inducing and stop us from enjoying the moment and living in the here and now. This is something I learnt when I travelled to Kenya just after Christmas in December 2016. I spent just over two weeks without any internet access, no Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or work emails. Just me, my friends and the amazing memories we made.

I can’t explain how good it felt to disconnect from the rest of the world. It was probably the first time since I left university and started working that I had not checked my work emails once on holiday, worried about something that was happening back at home or not having my mind on two things at once.

I came back from that holiday feeling completely refreshed and ready to get back into the swing of things. It made me realise that I needed to put my phone down more and worry a little less. I now make a conscious effort to not heck work emails on my days off or when I’m spending time with my family. I try not to sit in bed at night for an extra half an hour after I decided I’d go to sleep checking my Instagram or reading articles on my phone.

If you haven’t already, try it. You’ll be surprised how much better you feel for it. The world won’t stop because you have.

F x

Instagram / Pinterest 

Leave a Reply

