Real Talk…I’ve Fallen Out of Love with My Body

Let’s be real, are there many girls who can say they truly love themselves, their body, 100%? I certainly don’t know many who do. I’ve fell out of love with my body a long time ago. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I looked in the mirror and didn’t pick some fault in what I saw.

Since uni I’ve slowly been gaining weight…over a stone of it since 2012. And I can’t seem to make it budge. At uni I weighed anywhere between 8 and 8 ½ stone and was very happy with my body. I walk dup to uni every day, I danced for about 8 hours a week (me and my friends ran the dance society) and I went running on top of that. I’m now sitting around 9 ½ stone on my 5ft2 frame…and I don’t feel comfortable.

My clothes are a little tight…I don’t feel confident, well in pretty much anything. All I see when I look in the mirror is my stomach pooch, broad shoulders, cellulite on my thighs/butt and big legs. This is not a healthy image to have of myself, and one I know is probably blown way out of proportion in my head. Nonetheless, I’ve decided something needs to change, and only I can do it.

I’m going to work my ass off to lose the weight I’ve gained and fall back in love with my body. This time I’m not giving up. By writing it here, I’m accountable. I can’t just say ‘Oh, I’ll start again on Monday’. It’s written here, and it’s out there in the wonderful world of the internet.

It’s time for me to fall back in love with the gym, and back in love with my body.

Check back in for progress updates.

F x

Leave a Reply

